Crossing The Bridge When We Get There Part III

a cornered gurl

*disclaimer* a certain phrase that I coined last week is being used in this installment by request. I hope it jives well.

image

Crossing The Bridge When We Get There Part III

I made it to work–
10 minutes of being
Absent from your view, you
Send me a message stating,
“You cannot keep this
From me forever.”
You were right, not always,
But in this instance, you
Were right.

I escaped the dreaded 8 a.m.
Traffic, skirting in between lanes,
Mastering speeds exceeding
Insanity, but thought of
Your hair–
Cropped perfectly, just
Above your ears.
You shampooed it every
Other day, the smell of
Coconut and eucalyptus hang
At your neck.
It’s where I
Suckle, bit by bit–
Savoring your taste.

The sun isn’t kind
During my commute, she
Sings a tune, high in
Octaves, beating the strength
Out of me and I remember
Young love at summertime.
Spring is…

View original post 51 more words

Leave a Reply

